DISCLAIMER: Horns Up Rocks does not consciously breach any copyright regulations. If you are a holder and would like something to be removed from our site, please email us at info@hornsuprocks.com and we will gladly oblige.

Thursday, November 8, 2012

SPIRITUAL BEGGARS Locked In The Studio Working On NEW Album; Band To Appear At Roadburn 2013 Afterburner!

Sweden's classic Rock heavyweights SPIRITUAL BEGGARS are currently at work on a NEW studio album and are targeting a Spring 2013 release via InsideOut Music. The album, their eighth studio offering, will be the follow-up to their critically acclaimed 2010 release 'Return To Zero'. Additionally, the band is proud to announce that they will be appearing at the 2013 Roadburn Festival Afterburner, on April 21 in Tillburg, Holland.  

"Back in the early '90s, Roadburn founder Walter Hoeijmakers was one of the very first supporters SPIRITUAL BEGGARS had in Europe," says bandleader Michael Amott. "His unbridled enthusiasm for our music back then when most people didn't 'get it' meant so much to us. It's a great feeling to now play his fantastic festival and celebrate the staying power of SPIRITUAL BEGGARS and the Roadburn concept together! We're releasing a NEW studio album and celebrating our 20th anniversary as a band in 2013, and I really can't think of a better way to start the party than at the esteemed Roadburn Festival!"  

Since their formation in the early '90s, SPIRITUAL BEGGARS have been at the forefront of the burgeoning stoner Rock scene, raising the benchmark for stoner Metal bands around the globe through a succession of much acclaimed albums that redefined the genre. Records like 'Another Way To Shine', 'Mantra III', 'Ad Astra', 'On Fire' and 'Return To Zero' deliver a masterful homage to the Rock sensibilities of DEEP PURPLE, RAINBOW, URIAH HEEP and TROUBLE, and also the blistering guitar heroics of Frank Marino and MOUNTAIN's Leslie West.  

SPIRITUAL BEGGARS discography:    

- Spiritual Beggars: CD 1994
- Another Way To Shine: CD 1996
- Violet Karma: 10" EP 1998
- Mantra III: CD 1998
- Ad Astra: CD/2LP 2000
- It's Over: Split 7" EP with Grand Magus 2001
- On Fire: CD 2002
- Demons: CD 2005
- Live Fire!: DVD 2006
- Return To Zero: CD/LP 2010  


- Michael Amott (Guitars | ARCH ENEMY, ex CARCASS)
- Ludwig Witt (Drums | GRAND MAGUS, ex FIREBIRD)
- Per Wiberg (Keys | ex OPETH)
- Sharlee D'Angelo (Bass | ARCH ENEMY, WITCHERY)
- Apollo Papathanasio (Vocals | FIREWIND) 

Related links:
Spiritual Beggars on Facebook

No comments: