DISCLAIMER: Horns Up Rocks does not consciously breach any copyright regulations. If you are a holder and would like something to be removed from our site, please email us at info@hornsuprocks.com and we will gladly oblige.

Thursday, March 22, 2012

30 Years Ago IRON MAIDEN Changed Heavy Music History With The Release Of 'The Number Of The Beast'

'The Number of the Beast' is the third studio album by the British heavy Metal legends IRON MAIDEN, released on March 22, 1982. The album saw the debut of vocalist Bruce Dickinson, and the final appearance of drummer Clive Burr in the band.

'The Number of the Beast' met with considerable critical and commercial success and was a landmark release for the band, becoming their first album to reach No. 1 in the UK albums chart, and be certified platinum in the US. The album also produced the singles "Run to the Hills" and "The Number of the Beast", the former of which was the band's first top-10 UK single. The album was also controversial – particularly in the US – due to the religious nature of its lyrics and its artwork.

Since the release of 'The Number of the Beast' and its subsequent tour, The Beast on the Road, "The Beast" has become an alternate name for Iron Maiden, and was later used in the titles of some of their compilations and live releases, including 'Best of the Beast' and 'Visions of the Beast'. Here is a ton if information about 6,6,6... 'The Number Of The Beast'.

All songs written and composed by Steve Harris, except where noted.

Original track listing

1. "Invaders"
2. "Children of the Damned"
3. "The Prisoner" (Harris, Adrian Smith)
4. "22 Acacia Avenue" (Harris, Adrian Smith)
5. "The Number of the Beast"
6. "Run to the Hills"
7. "Gangland" (Clive Burr, Smith)
8. "Hallowed Be Thy Name"

Total length: 40:15


Bruce Dickinson – Lead vocals
Dave Murray – Guitar
Adrian Smith – Guitar, backing vocals
Steve Harris – Bass, backing vocals
Clive Burr – Drums, percussion

Martin Birch – Producer, engineer
Rod Smallwood – Manager
Derek Riggs – Illustration
Ross Halfin – Photography
Denis O'Regan – photography


"Run to the Hills" - Released: 12 February 1982
"The Number of the Beast" - Released: 26 April 1982
"Hallowed Be Thy Name (live)" - Released: 4 October 1993

Catch IRON MAIDEN in North America With Alice Cooper!

June (Tickets available NOW):

- Thu 21: Charlotte, NC, USA at Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre
- Sat 23: Atlanta, GA, USA at Aarons Amphitheatre at Lakewood
- Tue 26: Boston, MA, USA at Comcast Center
- Wed 27: Wantagh, NY, USA at Jones Beach
- Fri 29: Philadelphia, PA, USA at Susquehanna Bank Center
- Sat 30: Washington, DC, USA at Jiffy Lube Live

July (Tickets available NOW):

- Mon 2: Newark, NJ, USA at Prudential Center
- Wed 4: Milwaukee, WI, USA at Marcus Amphitheater - Summerfest
- Thu 5: Chicago, IL, USA at First Midwest Bank
- Sun 8: Quebec City, QC, CANADA at Colisee Pepsi Arena
- Wed 11: Montreal, QC, CANADA at Bell Centre
- Fri 13: Toronto, ON, CANADA at Molson Amphitheater
- Sat 14: Sarnia, ON, CANADA at Bayfest
- Mon 16: Buffalo, NY, USA at Darien Center
- Wed 18: Detroit, MI, USA at DTE Music Theatre
- Thu 19: Indianapolis, IN, USA at Klipsch Music Center
- Sat 21: Cadott, WI, USA at Rock Fest
- Tue 24: Winnipeg, MB, CANADA at MTS Center
- Thu 26: Calgary, AB, CANADA at Scotiabank Saddledome
- Fri 27: Edmonton, AB, CANADA at Rexall Place
- Sun 29: Vancouver, BC, CANADA at Rogers Arena
- Mon 30: Seattle, WA, USA at White River Amphitheatre

August (Tickets available NOW):

- Wed 1: Salt Lake City, UT, USA at USANA Amphitheatre
- Fri 3: San Francisco, CA, USA at Shoreline Amphitheatre
- Mon 6: Phoenix, AZ, USA at Cricket Pavilion
- Thu 9: Irvine, CA, USA at Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre
- Sun 12: Albuquerque, NM, USA at Hard Rock Pavilion
- Mon 13: Denver, CO, USA at Comfort Dental Amphitheatre / Pepsi Center
- Wed 15: San Antonio, TX, USA at AT&T Center
- Fri 17: Dallas, TX, USA at Gexa Energy Pavilion
- Sat 18: Houston, TX, USA at The Woodlands / Toyota Center

Related links:
Iron Maiden's Official Site

No comments: