DISCLAIMER: Horns Up Rocks does not consciously breach any copyright regulations. If you are a holder and would like something to be removed from our site, please email us at info@hornsuprocks.com and we will gladly oblige.

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Philip Anselmo Talks About 'Vulgar Display Of Power', DOWN IV & Solo Album!

Philip Anselmo is a non stop music machine. When he is not busy with his supergroup DOWN, he is taking care of business at Housecore Records (Anselmo's label). Somehow, he also has time to create NEW music via his various side projects. Recently,  Loudwire.com chatted with PANTERA's frontman to talk about the 20th anniversary reissue of 'Vulgar Display Of Power' (available now), as well as the new series of EP's by DOWN. He also broke the news about his NEW solo project. Here are some excerpts of the interview.

“We just finished an EP, yes,” Anselmo told Loudwire.” That is done. It’s mastered, done, finished. I’m waiting on Pepper [Keenan's] artwork so I can take a good look at that. We’ll be doing a short [tour] run … this month. 10 days out in tertiary markets, to get our sea legs under us, so we can be ready for touring this fall. Expect that record no later mid-summer or early, early, early fall at the f—ing latest.”

He acknowledged that reports on a series of DOWN EPs “is a bunch of talk and f—ing ideas. They are good ideas, nonetheless. DOWN, the way I describe it, it is a genre band. When you are in a genre band, there are rules. There are borders you cannot cross. You have to be true to the genre itself. It is a subgenre within a subgenre within a subgenre. Southern Black Sabbath slash doom slash a million different things but it’s really one thing. As for the EPs, the other material, we’ve spoken about, this, that, the other, but as far as sitting down and doing it, we only have one in the can.”

About his solo album: “My solo record is recorded and has one more mix to go,” he said. The project will be called, simply, Philip H. Anselmo, and the album title is ‘Walk Through Exits Only'. It is the most deadly motherf—ing thing I have done. I cannot wait for people to hear it. If you like what I do or what I have done, this might be on of your up and coming favorites. I found a guitar player that is just out of his mind. I’ve actually known him for a long time, as long as Dime. Dime gave his respect to him, as well, and he is a great, sweet guy.”

Down's NEW EP will feature the following songs in no particular order:

- 'Levitation'
- 'Witchtripper'
- 'The Misfortune Teller'
- 'The Curse Is A Lie'
- 'Open Coffins'
- 'This Work Is Timeless'



18 - Broussard, LA - The Station
19 - Huntsville, AL - The Crossroads
20 - Columbus, OH - Rock On The Range
21 - Asheville, NC - The Orange Peel
23 - Little Rock, AR - Juanitas
25 - Memphis, TN - New Daisy Theatre
26 - Houston, TX - Warehouse Live
27 - Shreveport, LA - Municipal Auditorium
29 - Pensacola, FL - Vinyl Music Hall
30 - Charleston, SC - Music Farm


1 - Ft. Lauderdale, FL - The Culture Room
2 - Tampa, FL - Scion Rock Fest

Related links:

No comments: