DISCLAIMER: Horns Up Rocks does not consciously breach any copyright regulations. If you are a holder and would like something to be removed from our site, please email us at info@hornsuprocks.com and we will gladly oblige.

Friday, January 25, 2013

KVELERTAK Celebrate Their NEW Record Deal With Roadrunner Records!

This just in via Roadrunner Records:

Roadrunner Records is pleased to announce the signing of Norwegian adrenaline-pushers of Heavy Rock N' Roll, Kvelertak. The band will release their highly anticipated sophomore album, 'Meir' (which means “more” in Norwegian), produced by Converge’s Kurt Ballou, on March 26, 2013. Their first single, “Bruane Brenn,” has early critical acclaim from several tastemaker outlets including Stereogum, who raves, “It’s a total blast of riffs, adrenaline, football chants, and guitar solos, and in its four minutes, you get five decades of rock ‘n’ roll, compressed into one massive speedball hit.” The single will be available on iTunes beginning February 5, 2013 and will be available as an instant download when you pre-order the album. An exclusive CD/T-shirt bundle will also be available that day at the Roadrunner webstore.

Dave Rath, Senior Vice President of A&R at Roadrunner Records says of the signing, “Every decade or so, Hard Rock and Heavy Metal gets a well-deserved kick in the ass. Kvelertak is the band to do just that. These guys remind us that Rock music should truly affect us. Roadrunner is proud to deliver Kvelertak to a world waiting for a musical awakening. If this band doesn't get your heart racing, then you don't have one.”

From storming 2011’s SXSW festival to being personally invited by Mastodon to support them in Bergen, Norway, to Dave Grohl presenting them with their first gold discs at a sold-out show at Telenor Arena, Norway’s largest indoor venue, Kvelertak, or “chokehold” in English, are only getting started.

With the explosive first single “Bruane Brenn,” the slowed-down guitar crunching of “Evig Vandrar,” the brutally chaotic “Nekrokosmos” and much more, 'Meir' is an album that certainly lives up to its claim of giving the listener “more.” With tight rhythms, inventive guitar hooks and melodies that seep into your consciousness, this is an album that constantly surprises.

“It is both catchy and heavy; we're pushing our limits in both ends of that spectre. It's very varied and there are a lot of surprises in store. I mean, it's unlike anything I myself have heard before, so we even managed to surprise ourselves,” said lead singer Erlend Hjelvik.

Look for North American tour dates to be announced soon!

Kvelertak is:

- Erlend Hjelvik (vocals)
- Vidar Landa (guitars)
- Bjarte Lund Rolland (guitars)
- Maciek Ofstad (guitars)
- Marvin Nygaard (bass)
- Kjetil Gjermundrød (drums).

Meir Track Listing:

1. Åpenbaring
2. Spring Fra Livet
3. Trepan
4. Bruane Brenn
5. Evig Vandrar
6. Snilepisk
7. Månelyst
8. Nekrokosmos
9. Undertro
10. Tordenbrak
11. Kvelertak

We want to congratulate Kvelertak, and wish them tons of success!

Related links:
Kvelertak on Facebook 
Kvelertak on Twitter 
Kvelertak on MySpace 

No comments: